## **Young Investigator Travel Awards for 2012**

In order to promote interest in the field of neuroimmune pharmacology and to recognize the excellent work being done by young investigators in this field, the Society provides Young Investigator Travel Awards (YITA) to trainees working with a SNIP Member and seeking funds to attend the annual conference of the Society on NeuroImmune Pharmacology. For the 2012 SNIP Scientific Conference, travel awards were granted to: Marisela Agudelo (Florida International University; M Nair, mentor), Julie Castaneda (University of California, Los Angeles; M Roth, mentor), Prasanta Dash (University of Nebraska; H Gendelman, mentor), Donna Davidson (University of Rochester; S Maggirwar, mentor), Jerel Adam Fields (University of North Texas Health Science Center; A Ghorpade, mentor), Sylvia Fitting (Virginia Commonwealth University; K Hauser, mentor), Lisa Henderson (Rush University Medical Center; L Al-Harthi, mentor), Joseph Jackson (University of Rochester; S Maggirwar, mentor), Mukesh Kumar (University of Hawaii; V Nerurkar, mentor), Jana Ninkovic (University of Minnesota; S Roy, mentor), Divya Sagar (Drexel University College of Medicine; P Jain, mentor), and **Dionna Williams** (Albert Einstein College of Medicine; J Berman, mentor). Registration Waivers were awarded to: Crystal Bethel-Brown (University of Nebraska; S Buch, mentor), Gladys Chompre (Ponce School of Medicine and Health Sciences; R Noel, mentor), Maureen Richards (Rush University Medical Center; L Al-Harthi, mentor), Scott Schachtele (University of Minnesota; J Lokensgard, mentor), Ankit Shah (University of Missouri-Kansas City; A Kumar, mentor), and Fabian Vazquez-Santiago (Ponce School of Medicine and Health Sciences; V Rivera Amill, mentor).

## 2012 NIDA-AAPI Early Career Investigator Conference Awards

This year we are pleased to announce a special category of Young Investigator award, the NIDA/AAPI Workgroup-Sponsored Awards for Early Career Investigators from under-represented racial/ethnic minority groups. These awards are sponsored by the NIDA Asian American/Pacific Islander (AAPI) Workgroup, and led by Drs. Linda Chang and Anil Kumar. For the 2012 SNIP Conference, awards were granted to: Wenyan Cui (University of Virginia; M Li, mentor), Mohitkumar Gangwani (University of Missouri-Kansas City; A Kumar, mentor), Bijayesh Haldar (Temple University; R Potula, mentor), **Mengyao Jin** (University of Missouri-Kansas City; S Kumar, mentor), Chinmay Mantri (Meharry Medical College; CV Dash, mentor), Sraboni Sarkar (Seton Hall University; SL Chang, mentor), **Mogiang Wang** (University of Nebraska; JL Zheng, mentor), Lu Yang (University of Nebraska; S Buch, mentor), and Yu Zhou (Temple University; WZ Ho, mentor). Additionally, NIDA/AAPI supported the following registration waiver awardees: Anusha Ande (University of Missouri-Kansas City; S Kumar, mentor), Fnu Ashutosh (University of North Texas Health Science Center; A Ghorpade, mentor), Natasha Homji (Seton Hall University; SL Chang, mentor), Nariko Katayama (University of Hawaii; L Chang, mentor), Jing Ma (University Minnesota; S Roy, mentor), Sody Munsaka (University of Hawaii; L Chang, mentor), Vijaya Pichili (Florida International University; M Nair, mentor), Pavan Puligujja (University of Nebraska; X Liu, mentor), Naomi Tanizaki (University of Hawaii; L Chang, mentor), Yizhong Wang (Temple University; WZ Ho, mentor), and **Yongxiang Wang** (University of Nebraska; JL Zheng, mentor).