Early Career Investigator Travel Award Winners 2013

In order to promote interest in the field of Neuroimmune Pharmacology and to recognize the excellent work being done by Early Career investigators in this field, the Society provides Early Career Investigator Travel Awards (ECITA) to graduate students and post-doctorate trainees (within 5 years of Ph.D.) working with a SNIP Member and seeking funds to attend the annual conference of the Society on NeuroImmune Pharmacology. For the 2013 SNIP Scientific Conference, a total of 66 abstracts were submitted. Of which 22 graduate students and 13 post-doctorate fellows were awarded. Of these 35 awardees, 9 awards were conferred to students and post-doctorate fellows working in alcohol-related research and these awards were sponsored by NIAAA. The ECITA awards were made in 3 categories: \$750+registration waiver, \$500+registration waiver, and \$500. In addition, 6 students who were among the top candidates were awarded with "Certificate for Excellence". However, they were not given travel awards because they were the 3rd candidates from the same mentor. Finally, the top 3 from each graduate student post-doctorate fellow categories were selected for symposium presentation.

| ECITA Awardees | Mentor | University |
|----------------|----------------|---|
| Pre-Doctoral | | |
| Amma, AB | Dash, CV | Meharry Medical College |
| Bertrand, SJ | Booze, RM | University of South Carolina |
| Cao, L | Kumar, A | University of Missouri- Kansas City |
| Chen, Q | Zheng, JC | University of Nebraska Medical Center |
| Cisneros, I | Ghorpade, A | University of North Texas Health Science Center |
| Coley, JS | Berman, JW | Albert Einstein College of Medicine |
| Festa, L | Meucci, O | Drexel University College of Medicine |
| Gangwani, MR | Kumar, A | University of Missouri- Kansas City |
| Liu, X | Kumar, A | University of Missouri- Kansas City |
| Loucil, R | Noel, Jr, RJ | Ponce School of Medicine and Health Sciences |
| Mamik, MK | Ghorpade, A | University of North Texas Health Science Center |
| Meng, J | Roy, S | Veterans Affairs Medical Center |
| Moran, LM | Mactutus, CF | University of South Carolina |
| Sen, S | Amini, S | Temple University School of Medicine |
| Shah, A | Kumar, A | University of Missouri- Kansas City |
| Sindberg, GM | Roy, S | University of Minnesota |
| Strazza, M | Nonnemacher, M | Drexel University College of Medicine |
| Vartak, N | Ghorpade, A | University of North Texas Health Science Center |
| Wang, Y | Zheng, JC | University of Nebraska Medical Center |
| Williams, DW | Berman, JW | Albert Einstein College of Medicine |
| Yang, L | Buch, S | University of Nebraska Medical Center |
| Zhou, Y | Ho, WZ | Temple University School of Medicine |
| | | |

Post-Doctorale

| Ashutosh, F | Ghorpade, A |
|-------------|-------------|
|-------------|-------------|

UNT Health Science Center

| Castro, V Kiebala, M Lan, X Ma, J Mantri, SK Pilakka-Kanthikeel, S Wang, YZ Zhao, L | Toborek, M Maggirwar, SB Singhal, PC Roy, S Dash, CV Nair, M Ho, WZ Zheng, JC | University of Miami University of Rochester Feinstein Institute for Medical Research University of Minnesota Meharry Medical College Florida International University Temple University School of Medicine University of Nebraska Medical Center |
|--|--|---|
| ECITA-alcohol Awardees | Mentor | University |
| Pre-Doctoral | | |
| Ande, A | Kumar, S | University of Missouri- Kansas City |
| Fergoson, LB | Harris, RA | University of Texas, Austin |
| Franklin, T | Sarkar, DK | Rutgers University |
| Gofman, L | Potula, R | Temple University School of Medicine |
| Parikh, N | Wigdahl, B | Drexel University College of Medicine |
| Teng, S | Molina, P | Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center |
| Post-Doctoral | | |
| Agudelo , M | Nair, M | Florida International University |
| Bethel-Brown, C | Buch, S | University of Nebraska Medical Center |
| Vetreno, RP | Crew, FT | University of North Carolina, Chaper Hill |

The SNIP recognizes the service of ECITA committee members (Drs. Kumar (Chair), Booze, Datta, Ghorpade, Haorah, Ho, Kiertscher, Meléndez, Molitor, Nonnemacher, Royal, Tang, Thangavel, and Rivera), and thank them for their wonderful job in reviewing the ECITA applications.