Society Council

Johnny He, Ph.D.

— President

Institute for Molecular Medicine
Associate Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Director, Center for Infectious and Inflammatory Diseases
University of North Texas Health Science Center
Fort Worth, Texas 76107

Sulie L. Chang, Ph.D.

— President Elect

Professor and Director
Institute of Neuroimmune Pharmacology
Seton Hall University
South Orange, NJ 07079

Jonathan Geiger, Ph.D.

— Past President

Chester Fritz Distinguished Professor
School of Medicine and Health Sciences Room 110
504 Hamline Street Stop 9037
Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037

Sanjay Maggirwar, MBA, Ph.D.

— Treasurer (2018-2020)

Professor and Vice Chair
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester, NY 14642

Richard J. Noel Jr., Ph.D.

— Secretary

Professor and Chair
Department of Basic Sciences
School of Medicine
Ponce Health Sciences University
Ponce, PR 00716-7004

Marcus Kaul, Ph.D.

— Council Member, Meetings Committee Chair (2017-2019)

Associate Professor
Division of Biomedical Sciences
School of Medicine
University of California, Riverside
Riverside, CA 92521

Associate Professor (Adjunct)
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
La Jolla, CA 92037

Vanessa Rivera-Amill, Ph.D.

— Council Member, Membership Committee Chair (2017-2019)

Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology, Ponce School of Medicine and Health Sciences
Ponce School of Medicine
P.O. Box 7004
Ponce, PR 00732

Olimpia Meucci, MD, Ph.D.

— Council Member, Communications Committee Chair (2018-2020)

Professor and Chair
Department of Pharmacology & Physiology
Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Director, Center of Neuroimmunology and CNS Therapeutics
Institute of Molecular Medicine and Infectious Diseases
Drexel University College of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA 19102

Kelly Jordan-Sciutto, Ph.D.

— Council Member, Diversity and Inclusion SNIP Committee (DISC) (2017-2019)

Chair and Professor of Pathology
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6030

Gurudutt Pendyala, Ph.D.

— Early Career Investigator Committee Chair

Assistant Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
University of Nebraska, Medical Center
Omaha, NE

Peter Gaskill, Ph.D.

— Council Member (2017-2019)

Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacology and Physiology
Drexel University College of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA 19012

Loyda Melendez Ph.D.

— Council Member (2018-2020)

Department of Microbiology and Medical Zoology
University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Yisel M. Cantres-Rosario, Ph.D.

— Early Stage Council Member

Postdoctoral Researcher
Department of Microbiology, School of Medicine
University of Puerto Rico, Medical Sciences Campus
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Christoph Stein, MD

— Council Member, International (2017-2019)

Klinik für Anaesthesiologie und Operative Intensivmedizin
Freie Universität Berlin, Charité Campus
Benjamin Franklin, Hindenburgdam 30 D-12200 Berlin

Pankaj Seth, MD

— Council Member, International (2017-2019)

Professor and Scientist VI
Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience, Neurovirology Section
National Brain Research Centre (NBRC)
Haryana 122051, India

Sabita Roy, Ph.D.

— Ad-hoc Member

Professor and Associate Vice Chair For Career Development
Department of Surgery
University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine
Miami, Florida 33101

Toby Eisenstein, Ph.D.

— Ad-hoc Member

Professor, Department of Microbiology & Immunology
Co-Director, Center for Substance Abuse Research
Temple University School of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA, 19140

T. Celeste Napier, Ph.D.

— Ad-hoc Member

Departments of Pharmacology and Psychiatry
Rush University Medical Center
Chicago, IL

Chandravanu Dash, Ph.D.

— Ad-hoc Member

Assistant Professor
Center for AIDS Health Disparities Research
Meharry Medical College
Nashville, TN

Howard E. Gendelman, MD

— Ex Officio

Journal of Neuroimmune Pharmacology
Larson Professor of Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases
Chair, Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Neuroscience
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-5880